Strolling through its streets, squares and avenues, San Fernando appears to the good observer as a veritable forest of white, haughty and whimsical battlements, trellis walls, lookouts and balconies, cornices and multiform niches in a unique and personal interpretation of life made of lime and stone. Among the various visits that can be made to the city, the following stand out:
Inaugurated in 1804, it is a building of great historic and artistic value. In September 1810, it housed the first sessions of the Cortes Generales and Cortes Extraordinarias of the Parliament that gave rise to the first Spanish Constitution, for which its interior underwent a renovation. This building, declared a Constitutional Monument, has since then had several uses. It boasts the Royal title and was declared a Historic Monument in 1935.
Dating back to 1733, it is the oldest religious building preserved in the city. Here is venerated the Virgen del Carmen, patron saint of the city and the Navy. It was the scene of some sessions of the Cortes de Cádiz and in its enclosure was granted to the then Villa de la Real Isla de León, the current name of San Fernando and the title of City in the year 1813, in recognition of its work during the War of Independence and its constitutional role.
During the War of Independence this place plays an important historical role being the seat of the Council of Regency of Spain, which convenes the Cortes in September 1810. For this reason, the Religious Sisters were transferred to Cadiz, adapting these facilities for state offices, troop lodging and hospital.
Due to the population increase experienced in Villa de la Real Isla de León, construction on this temple began in 1756. The original design was done by the architect Alejandro Perdía, slightly modified by a French engineer and completed by Torcuato J. Benjumeda.
The building boasts being the largest Town Hall in Andalusia and the third largest in Spain. Its construction work began with the architect Torcuato Cayón in the mid-18th century, but continued up to the 19th century, so there were several architects who left their imprint on the building, enabling us to discover and enjoy the different styles we find in its interior.
At the mouth of the channel of the same name is the island of Sancti Petri. Sources of Classical Antiquity place in this area the famous temple of Melkart, a divinity of Phoenician origin that links with the cult of Hercules (Rome) and Heracles (Greece). The current fortress was built in the 18th century. It is a magical place of great beauty where the Cultural, Historical, Natural and Landscape Heritage are combined.
The Royal Institute and Observatory of the Navy in San Fernando is an important scientific center and the oldest observatory in Spain. Its origins date back to the 18th century.
The tidal mill of the Zaporito channel was a technological device of enormous importance for the local economy and the Bay of Cadiz. It used the tides as a source of inexhaustible energy to turn the stones and grind wheat and other cereals.
Located in the emblematic building of the Captaincy General and renovated to house its important historic collection according to museum criteria in an orderly and didactic manner…
Inside the military town of San Carlos is the impressive Neoclassical building constructed in the 18th century. It is home to the mortal remains of the great sailors of the Spanish Navy.
Although it is difficult to date it. Diverse investigations place the origin of the San Romualdo Castle in the 13th century. It is inserted in the line of medieval fortifications Cadiz of the Atlantic coast along with the castles of Rota and El Puerto de Santa Maria. In 1931 it was declared a National Historic Monument.
The privileged geographic location of Isla de León on the coast made this a more or less stable settlement site of man since very faraway times. This led to the exploitation of marine resources, especially for conserved and salted goods.
Military temple built between the end of the 18th century and the beginning of the 19th century. It is a church with a sober façade and a Latin cross floor plan covered with a dome in the transept and barrel vaults and vaults.
Built in the late 18th century, it is one of the oldest in San Fernando. The Neoclassical building, located inside what was the Medieval neighbourhood of the city, is a single body covered by a gable roof. The main facade has a lintelled door with two frames.
It is a defensive navy complex that protected the land entrance to the Island and Cádiz. The bridge, of Roman origin, owes its current layout to the Renaissance era, from when it began to be fortified with knights and batteries. It has remains of the shipyard that gave rise to the La Carraca Naval Station.
The existence of the Real Carenero shipyard was the background to the conception of the construction of this 18th century industrial enclave. This led to the repair duties performed by that enclosure being transferred and expanded with the creation of the new La Carraca Naval Station.
Located in the first building constructed in the military town of San Carlos, this exhibition space summarises the history of the Tercio de la Armada barracks in our city and of the Marine Infantry units that have been housed in it since its construction.
Alta Tower is located in the highest part of the city, dominating the land and sea approaches, including Cádiz Bay. Strategic place that served as a surveillance point in the face of the danger of attack and constant sieges sustained by the Cádiz coast.